Cannabis for medical use in Oregon was approved via Ballot Measure 67 by 55% of voters on Nov. 3, 1998, finally becoming effective on December 3, 1998
The law removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess a signed recommendation from their physician stating that marijuana “may mitigate” his or her debilitating symptoms.
House Bill 3052, which became effective on July 21, 1999 issued the following directive:
Patients (or their caregivers) may only cultivate marijuana in one location, and requires that patients must be diagnosed by their physicians at least 12 months prior to an arrest in order to present an “affirmative defense.” This bill also states that law enforcement officials who seize marijuana from a patient pending trial do not have to keep those plants alive.
There have been numerous updates and amendments, however you will find the most up to date information Oregon Administrative Rules, Division 8, Medical Marijuana. This document is dated December 15, 2009.
Conditions Approved for Use of Medical Marijuana in Oregon
- Agitation due to Alzheimer’s disease
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or treatment for these conditions;
- A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following:
(ii) Severe pain
(iii) Severe nausea
(iv) Seizures, including but not limited to seizures caused by epilepsy; or
(v) Persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to spasms caused by multiple sclerosis
- Any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition adopted by the Department
Cannabis Quantities Allowed
- A patient or the patient’s designated primary caregiver may possess up to six mature marijuana plants, 24 ounces of usable marijuana, and a patient and the patient’s designated primary caregiver may possess a combined total of up to 18 marijuana seedlings or starts.
- A grower may produce marijuana for and provide marijuana to a patient or that person’s designated primary caregiver and may possess up to six mature plants and up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana for each patient or caregiver for whom marijuana is being produced;
- A grower may also possess up to 18 marijuana seedlings or starts for each patient for whom marijuana is being produced;
- A grower may produce marijuana for no more than four patients or designated primary caregivers concurrently.
- A patient, the designated primary caregiver for a patient and the grower must have, in his or her possession, his or her OMMP identity card when transporting marijuana. A patient must have, in his or her possession, his or her OMMP identity card when using marijuana in a location other than the residence of the cardholder.
To apply for registration contact:
Oregon Department of Human Services
Medical Marijuana Program
PO Box 14450
Portland, OR 97293-0450
Current Fees: $100 for new applications and renewals, $20 for applicants enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan or who receive federal Supplementary Social Security Income or monthly food stamp benefits.
Full details of how to get a medical marijuana card in Oregon.
Back to Medical Marijuana state laws