Cannabis for medical use in Nevada was approved via Ballot Question 9 on November 7, 2000 by 62% of voters. The bill was amended to include the need for compulsory registration via Assembly Bill 453 and finally became effective on October 1, 2001.
The law removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who have “written documentation” from their physician that marijuana may alleviate his or her condition.
Conditions Approved for Use of Medical Marijuana in Nevada
- Any medical condition or treatment to a medical condition that produces cachexia, persistent muscle spasms or seizures
- Severe nausea or pain
- Other conditions are subject to approval by the health division of the state Department of Human Resources
Cannabis Quantities Allowed
Possession/Cultivation: Patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than one ounce of usable marijuana, three mature plants, and four immature plants
There is provision made for caregivers under Nevada State Law.
- A designated primary caregiver is a person who has significant responsibility for managing the well-being of a person diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition.
- Caregiver does not include the attending physician.
- The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older.
- Patients may only have one designated primary caregiver.
To use or grow marijuana under Nevada law, patients and caregivers must first complete the relevant application form and register with the:
1000 E William Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701
An application form can be requested by telephoning them on the above number.
Current cost of registration is $150. You can also expect to pay an extra charge for fingerprinting as well as a fee for making the card. Extra costs should be somewhere between $15 and $50.
Full details of how to get a medical marijuana card in Nevada.
Back to Medical Marijuana state laws