The act removed state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who have been diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition.
Important Note: You do not need to have one of the Specific Medical Conditions listed in Statute to be considered a qualified medical marijuana patient. The Statute also protects patients who use marihuana to treat the symptoms of any chronic or debilitating medical condition, or to alleviate symptoms or side effects caused by any therapy or other treatment option prescribed by your primary physician for that condition.
For example, if you suffer from depression and your physician prescribes a medication to treat the depression, and that medication causes muscle aches and spasms, or it makes you nauseated, then you would qualify as a patient with a listed condition (muscle spasms, nausea), to choose medical marijuana as a treatment option.
To find out if your condition applies, contact the Michigan Medical Marijuana Association
New conditions can be specified in the future. Rule 333.131 requires the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) to have a procedure for accepting petitions from the public to include additional medical conditions and treatments. The procedure must include public notice of hearings on each petition, opportunities for public input, and a reasonable timeline (180 days) for approval or denial.
Conditions Approved for Registry with the Medical Marijuana Program in Michigan
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Nail patella
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe and chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Muscle spasms
- Multiple sclerosis
Cannabis Quantities Allowed
Possession/Cultivation: Patients may possess up to two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable marijuana and twelve marijuana plants kept in an enclosed, locked facility.
The twelve plants may be kept by the patient only if he or she has not specified a primary caregiver to cultivate the marijuana for him or her.
Registration with the Michigan Medical Marihuana costs $100 or $25 for Medicaid patients and contact details are below:
Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
Bureau of Health Professions, Department of Community Health
611 W. Ottawa St.
Lansing, MI 48933
Full details on how to get a medical marijuana card in Michigan.
Return to medical marijuana state-laws