How to get a medical marijuana card in maine? On November 3, 2009, Maine voters approved the establishment of a medical marijuana patient registry and card system. The final rules became effective on August 4, 2010. The previous informal system of medical marijuana use came to an end on January 1 this year (2011). It is now essential to register with Maine’s Department of Health and Human Services
if you are to gain legal protection under Maine’s Medical Marijuana Laws.
Summary of Maine Medical Marijuana Law
Once in possession of a medical marijuana card from the Maine Department of Health and Human Services a patient may:
- Use marijuana to alleviate eligible medical conditions
- Designate a caregiver
- Obtain medical marijuana from an authorised dispensary
- Elect to grow your own cannabis (there’s a place on the application form to specify this)
- Possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana or, in the absence of a designated caregiver, own six plants, only three of which may be mature
Eligible Medical Conditions
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
- Crohn’s disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Nail-patella syndrome (NPS or TurnerKiser syndrome)
- Pain that has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures for more than 6 months
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- Any other medical condition approved by the Department of Health and Human Services
How to get a medical marijuana card in maine?
- An application form is to be completed and signed by the patient/patient’s parent or legal guardian.
- If a caregiver is named by the patient, then the caregiver is required to complete and submit the caregiver application.
- Registration fees are:
- Patient $100
- Patient on MaineCare $75
- Patient $100
Maine Medical Card
How to get a medical marijuana card in maine? you can find below how do you apply for a medical marijuana card in maine.
Section 1 of the Maine Medical Marijuana Registration Form identifies the patient and:
- who will grow for the patient
- where marijuana will be grown
- If a dispensary is selected and the name of the dispensary is known, the name should be included.
You should include the following with your application:
- A copy of your driver’s license or other state issued photo id card (hospice or nursing home residents do not need to provide this)
Section 2 of the Maine Medical Marijuana Registration Form identifies the legally responsible adult for a minor or person under guardianship or durable power of attorney.
You should include copies of guardianship or durable powers of attorney shall with your application.
Section 3 of the Maine Medical Marijuana Registration Form should be completed only if you designate a caregiver other than a dispensary.
- You must sign a release form for a member of the Department to have contact with your physician, if necessary.
- A patient is not permitted to complete the physician certification form. This form must be completed by the physician who has a bona fide patient/physician relationship, and shall be submitted directly by the physician to the Department.
- Whenever a primary caregiver is indicated, the nature of the assistance to the patient must be described.
- If the patient designates a hospice provider or nursing care facility to assist as a caregiver, the department will work with the designated facility to meet program requirements
Send your completed application form to:
Department of Health and Human Services
Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program
11 State House Station
41 Anthony Ave., 2nd Floor
Augusta, ME 04333
Out of State Patients
A visiting medical marijuana patient with an equivalent ID issued by another state is protected by Maine’s medical marijuana laws. This protection is temporary so if are a patient who plans on staying in Maine, then you must get a Maine patient ID.