Registration of both patient and caregiver required for medical marijuana use; here is what you need to do:
- Download and complete the Medical Marijuana Packet then send it, together with the following items, to the address below
- $25.00 for first applications or $20.00 for timely renewals
- A copy of your Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card.
- A copy of your caregivers’ Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card.
- A signed statement from your physician as follows:
i. Stating that the physician personally examined the patient and that the examination took place in the context of a bona-fide physician-patient relationship and setting out the date the examination occurred;
ii. Stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition;
iii. Stating that the physician has considered other approved medications and treatments that might provide relief, that are reasonably available to the patient, and that can be tolerated by the patient, and that the physician has concluded that the patient might benefit from the medical use of marijuana.
6. If the patient is a minor, an original (not photocopied) statement from the minor’s parent or legal guardian that gives consent.
7. Application, documents and fee should be sent to:Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics Marijuana Registry P.O. Box 110699 Juneau AK 99811-0699
In order to obtain a card as a caregiver, you must be at least 21 years old, not currently on parole or probation, and never have been convicted of a felony offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73. If your application is denied, you will not be allowed to resubmit it for six months.